So a lot of my friends who are triathletes (or at least have done triathlons…it’s not like they are professionals)  have asked me over the past several months if I “Clip In”. The conversations generally go like this:

Me: Yes, I am training to compete in a Sprint Triathlon in a few months.

Them: Oh. Do you Clip In?

Me: Umm, what the hell is that?

Them: (awkward pause) Your bike. Your shoes. Clip in.

Me: No, I wear my running shoes and use pedals.

Them: Oh.

Anyway, it appears to me from these engaging conversations that there is no other way to admirably perform on the bike during a triathlon than to do so while being clipped in. From what I can gather there are special shoes that have clips on them and they “lock” into a spot on the bike pedal and allow one to ride more efficiently, if not faster. Sounds like it is all the rage and everybody is doing it….except me. I am going to have to look into this. I cannot be wandering into triathlete circles without the proper gear! If anyone reading this has an opinion about this I would gladly be receptive to your thoughts. What is the cost? Will it make my ride easier? Can I then be part of the group that asks other novices, “Do YOU clip in”? These are things I need to do before making a decision as life changing as this one.

As for my training, I have been keeping up pretty well this week. Biked 9 miles in 35 minutes on the 4th, worked out at the gym and ran 3 miles in 25 minutes on Thursday, swam a total of 1500 meters on Friday night (did a ladder workout with sets of 50m, 100m, 200m and 300m at various speeds….probably the most difficult workout I have done, but completed it in 40 minutes with several 1 minute rest periods mixed in), and went back to the gym today for weight training. Tomorrow I may try one of my Sean Hussey Triathlons again. You know, complete a swim, bike and run of some distance close to the distances in the sprint tri. Maybe a 750m swim, a 10 mile bike and 2.5 mile run. We will have to see how I feel tomorrow. I have the whole day, and with the family still away in Texas, I have nothing but time. One thing is for sure though, if I decide to bike tomorrow I will not be clipped in.

Hope everyone had a Happy 4th of July. I know my daughter Keilani did. She turned 1 and got to wear this very patriotic outfit! Till next time.

 

 

