Okay, day 3 and I am quitting.

No, not really, although when the alarm goes off at 4:30 AM, the last thing you want to do is go run 4 miles. I debated on whether to run them outside the gym on the track, or inside on the treadmill. It was fairly windy when I got to the gym a little after 5:00, so I opted for the treadmill. I had been doing 3 mile runs the past few times I have hit the treadmill and I wanted to bump it up a bit to get ready for my 10K (6.2 miles) on St. Paddy’s Day. So the plan is to run 3 miles during the week and then increase by a mile on the weekends. So, I stretched it to 4 miles today and was able to do it in 32 minutes and change. I have to say that the swimming I have been doing is definitely helping my run time and cardiovascular endurance (or at least that is what I am telling myself). I had the treadmill set between 7.2 and 7.5 and never felt terribly tired, although when I finished my legs were a little “jelly-oid”. I figure I’ll do 3 miles again maybe Thursday then this weekend hit 5 miles, next week do 3 miles md week and then be ready to go at 6:00 AM on Saturday the 17th for 6.2 miles. That should be an interesting day. After the 10K I have to start getting the house ready for Liam’s 3rd B-Day party that afternoon (which entails going and getting a bouncy house, blowing it up and assembling tables and chairs as well as picking up a cake and then hosting a few other kids and their parents….all on jelly legs).

So, I have been at it pretty hard for the last 3 days. I think I read somewhere that you should give your body a break every now and then. Yep, agree with that philosophy. Going to shut it down tomorrow and let the muscles regroup. I will probably end up doing 5-6 days a week training. 5 for sure and maybe a 6th day of training if my body can take it. One of the keys for me will be flexibility. I have always been the least flexible person I know. I honestly couldn’t even touch my toes 2 weeks ago. I have been stretching daily in preparation for this training and can now touch my toes, but stretching the entire body and keeping it as injury free as possible will be a key for this old body. I ain’t 22 anymore, and when I get up in the morning my body reminds me of that. Not that I am crippled, but I do have aches and pains from my knees to back to neck on a pretty regular basis. Throughout the day, as I stretch and move, it loosens up. The problem is: These races are mostly before 7:00 AM in Guam because it gets so hot and humid during the day. So I need to get stretched and ready to go early in the day.

Another important factor for me will be diet. I will save this for another blog in the near future, but suffice it to say I have to eat healthy to keep my body primed. I have given up soft drinks and fast food (except an occassional Subway sub) as a starting point. I have already noticed a difference in the way I feel sticking to water and healthier food options.

Well, as tomorrow is a day off I will likely not be blogging, but will be back in a few days with updates on the training. My buddies in the States are heading to Vegas this week and I wish I could be there with them. I have already sent one of them some $$ in hopes that he can pick some winners for me. I may be stuck out here in the Pacific, but my spirit will be on the Vegas strip this week.

The pic is from the start of the last sprint triathlon here on Guam a few weeks back. Zinnia and I went to check it out and see if it was something we were up for. Needless to say, we were all in, with both feet. This picture is, to me, the scariest 5 minutes of the whole race. All these people, in such a close space, swimming and kicking….I am just hoping I don’t get konked on the head. Not to mention I will be scared to death just to be swimming out to sea….no walls to stop and rest on.

Thanks to all of you who have commented on the posts. I look forward to reading them daily!

